Vaccine passports: Which countries will require them? How will traffic light system work?

Grant Shapps outlines the 'way forward' for vaccine passports

When you subscribe we will use the information you provide to send you these newsletters. Sometimes they’ll include recommendations for other related newsletters or services we offer. Our Privacy Notice explains more about how we use your data, and your rights. You can unsubscribe at any time.

THE GOVERNMENT has confirmed that Covid ‘vaccine passports’ are in the works and will use the NHS smartphone app. So how will this all work?

On Wednesday, Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said work had started on developing Covid vaccine passports. They will be incorporated into the NHS app many people use to book appointments with their GPs, so that it could show whether they been vaccinated and tested for the virus. International travel is due to reopen on May 17, if all goes well, and experts have said some form of vaccine passports could be a reality for many years to come.

Which countries will require a vaccine passport?

There hasn’t been any confirmation as to which countries will be included in the UK’s travel allowance at first or if any will be exempt from the passport.

Mr Shapps promised a list of possible holiday destinations would be released within a fortnight.

He said: “We do need to make sure that we do this very, very carefully.

“But, in the next couple of weeks, I’ll come back on and I’ll be able to tell you about which countries will have made it into the traffic light system – and that green list in particular.”

Pound to euro exchange rate remains ‘rangebound’ [ANALYSIS]
Should people with Russian or Chinese jabs be accepted in UK? [POLL]
NHS app travel: Which countries can you use the NHS app for? [EXPLAINER]

How will the traffic light system work?

A ‘traffic-light’ system whereby countries are rated green, amber or yellow has been in discussion for some time now.

Green countries would mean people could return to the UK with no restrictions.

Amber destinations would most likely mean people having to quarantine at home.

Red countries would likely require a formal, 10-day quarantine stay at a hotel, and only UK residents would be allowed re-entry.

Which countries will be green, amber and red?

The list is expected to be updated and change as circumstances change.

Factors including Covid infection rates, variants and the success of vaccine programmes will all influence a nation’s status.

Currently, we can expect just a small handful of nations to be on the green list.

Potential green list countries

  • USA
  • Israel
  • Malta
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • New Zealand
  • Australia
  • Gibraltar

Potential amber list countries

  • Cyprus
  • Turkey
  • Seychelles
  • Greece
  • Croatia
  • Spain
  • Italy

Potential red list countries

  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Ecuador
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • United Arab Emirates (UAE)
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Source: Read Full Article