15 countries that have banned Brit travellers – including China

Don’t miss a thing by getting the Daily Star’s biggest headlines straight to your inbox!

The Omicron variant of the coronavirus is spreading rapidly across the UK and is infecting around 200,000 people every day, impacting where people can travel to.

1,576 additional cases of the strain were reported across the UK on Monday (December 13), taking the total to 4,713.

1,534 of these cases were in England, 27 were in Scotland and 15 were in Wales according to the UK Health Security Agency, MEN reports.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson has attempted to take on the virus with an ambitious project to give 1 million booster jabs every day before the end of the year.

Countries, including Australia and China – have now firmed up their restrictions and this means that British tourists are effectively banned from visiting the destinations.

The UK has introduced strict restrictions of its own.

With restrictions tightening, some Brits are going to have to be careful where they travel to in the coming days and weeks.

Which countries have banned travel from the UK?

As a result of the spreading mutant strain, 15 countries have banned travellers from the UK from entering their borders.


At the moment, people are only able to enter Australia if they are exempt or have been granted an individual exemption.

Exempt categories include:

  • Australian citizens
  • Permanent residents of Australia
  • Immediate family members of Australian citizens or permanent residents


Border crossings have been limited to 'extreme necessity' in the West African country of Benin.

  • 'Guys used to ask for my number as a joke – I think they may regret it now'

Entry and exit at border crossings must be authorised in liaison with bordering countries.


Bhutan's borders are currently closed to foreign nationals, including British citizens.

The South Asian country has borders with China, India, and Tibet and authorities in the country have not yet specified when the country will re-open to foreign visitors.


Entry from third countries is still possible, as reported by the Liverpool Echo. Third countries are non-EU states, or states that do not have the EU's freedom of movement.

However, direct flights from the UK have been banned by Chinese authorities.

  • Christine McGuinness sizzles in racy lingerie and stockings ahead of Full Monty strip

This will be reviewed, but it is not known when this will occur.

Falkland Islands

Tourists are not permitted to visit the Falkland Islands.


Tourist visas are unavailable for Brits.


Non-Israeli citizens are not allowed to enter the country unless they have a special entry permit.

  • Man Utd join race for Antonio Rudiger as Chelsea brace themselves for 'transfer poker'

This permit must be granted by a dedicated 'Exceptions Committee'.


Foreign nationals have not been allowed to enter Japan since November 30, unless they are current residents. Some may be allowed to enter for special circumstances.


Laos is not accepting visas from countries with cases of Covid-19, including the UK.


Entry to Malaysia for British nationals is prohibited.

  • Diner customer slams £8 fry-up breakfast 'like rubber' and 'not fit to give your dog'

Some exemptions may apply, including British nationals:

  • Permanent resident status
  • Resident pass
  • My Second Home Programme (MM2H) pass
  • Expatriates of all categories, including professional visit passes as well as dependants pass
  • Spouse to Malaysian nationals (spouse visa)
  • Students and temporary employment passes


The Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO) advises against all but essential travel to Myanmar, based on the political unrest, but new tourist visa applications are currently suspended anyway.

New Zealand

The New Zealand border is currently closed to almost all arrivals, but you may be allowed in for special circumstances.


This South American country has closed its borders to the outside world.

  • Fans praise Laila Morse as she strips in wheelchair on Full Monty after hurting ankle

According to the Foreign Office, all international borders remain closed.


There is a temporary ban on all foreign nationals entering Taiwan, due to the coronavirus.


Popular gap year destination Vietnam has suspended visa waivers, issuing of visas and the entry into Vietnam for all foreign nationals apart from special cases.

  • Travel Advice
  • Coronavirus

Source: Read Full Article